• Recent Comments

    operationblackvote on The Apprentice: in defence of…
    David Stuart on No, not again: Jimmy Mubenga d…
    David Stuart on National Black Police Ass…
    Marvelous on The Apprentice: in defence of…
    Regina Nyametscher on The Apprentice: in defence of…
    Marcus on The Apprentice: in defence of…
    James Odoi on The Apprentice: in defence of…
  • Recent Posts

  • Categories

BAME Women Champions Make History

Minister for Women  Equalities Lynne Featherstone

Featherstone: championing mentoring scheme

Despite the summer showers the sun shone on the House of Common’s terrace yesterday afternoon as more than 150 guests came to Westminster to celebrate a successful BME women’s councillor shadowing scheme.

Newly appointed Minister for Equality, Lynne Featherstone MP and Minister for Race, Andrew Stunnell MP applauded OBV’s work in delivering a project that was both successful and showed leadership. Lynne Featherstone, spoke passionately about mentoring. ‘Throughout my early political life I was mentored. The experience was invaluable. Furthermore, I have mentored others on their journey too. It’s about giving back’.

60 BAME women took part in the scheme shadowing local councillors from over 25 local Authorities. Incredibly, after such a short space of time, nearly a quarter of participants (14 women) decided to stand for local election seats. And of them 4 won: Councillor Sheila D’Souza Conservatives in Westminster; Councillor Margaret McLennan for Labour in Brent; and for the Liberal Democrats Councillor Pathumal Ali in Sutton and Councillor Judy Best in Lambeth.

New Councillors: Cllr Pathumal Ali, Cllr Judith Best, Cllr Dr Sheila D’Souza & Cllr Margaret McLennan

New Councillors: Cllr Pathumal Ali, Cllr Judith Best, Cllr Dr Sheila D’Souza & Cllr Margaret McLennan

Cllr Best, spoke to the BBC before attending the graduation;

“I always wanted to give back to my community’, she stated. ‘This scheme was a good way to see if I had what it takes to become a councillor. I was surprised how hard they worked’. Best told the reporter,‘…but undeterred I thought I could do it. Six months later, here I am a Councillor, making decisions about those areas I think are most important, such as child welfare and education’. Asked if this was a path to becoming an MP, Best replied, ‘I think I’d better walk before I run’.”

The project came out of a BAME Women Councillors’ Taskforce set up by Harriet Harman MP whilst she was Minister for Women.  The task force on which Councillor Salma Yaqoob stood concluded that a shadowing scheme must be set up, and Operation Black Vote was appointed to undertake this ambitious project.

Ministers with Shadows and Councillor mentors

Yaqoob attended the event with fellow task force member and now Labour leadership candidate, Diane Abbott MP. Abbott spoke about achieving against the odds:

“I’ve been told all my life I can’t do this. I won’t win there. I must wait my turn. Every time I’ve proved them wrong’. Abbott told an audience that see her as a role model that she hoped her latest battle – to become Labour leader – would inspire a new generation of BME women to follow in her footsteps, and believe they can reach high office.”

The next generation was already being inspired.

Simon Woolley
OBV Director

3 Responses

  1. I was invited to attend as a mentor, and have to say how thrilled and inspired I felt by all the amazing things achieved by OBV and its supporters. I hope to take part even more now, should I be asked!My only request is that for all of us who are not in the London and surrounding areas, perhaps OBV can have a set-up or an event in the midlands which may encourage furthermore the wonderful cause you fight. Thank you for a brilliant day.Best Wishes, Sabina.

  2. Such a fab photo all those BME faces in that photo. Pity we can’t see more of this type of initiatve in the private sector. In my 20 years+ career working in PR, I have only ever had one client who was not white (and that was recent). I’m not syaing people should be put into senior posts on the basis of race/colour, but the almost zero representation of BMEs in senior client posts over such a long period of time speaks for itself.

    • TasteAmirage,

      An Asian PR! OMG! You’re only the fourth one I have seen / heard of. We are not very common are we?! If you think PR has not yet stepped into the 21st century – just take a look at the state of the Public Affairs industry – now there I think you’ll find us non-whites are rarer than a uranium enriching centrifuge in an Iranian power plant! Yup we are rare.

      We should start a club – you know for us non-white wordsmiths. BTW – Are you a member of that Apostraphe abuse Facebook group? Its sad, but oddly enticing, I think you’ll agree.

      Best wishes,

      Imran

Comments are closed.

